Roxy To Come Out With First 100 Percent Recyclable Flip Flop

Good News – The Huffington Post
Roxy To Come Out With First 100 Percent Recyclable Flip Flop
Your environmental footprint just got a whole lot smaller, literally.

Roxy announced a partnership with PLUS Compound Technologies to produce a 100 percent recyclable flip flop that will hit stories in 2014.

Called “Kiwi” the flip flop will be “non-microbial, non absorbent and eligible for reclaim at any of the PLUSfoam facilities around the world.”

Roxy and PLUS are hoping that by creating a product that has zero production waste, they’ll be able to sell customers on design and what they’re calling their “closed-loop story.”

“Anyone who has been to a manufacturing facility in China within the last 20 years has seen the piles of post-manufacturing scrap first-hand,” PLUSfoam CEO, Brett Ritter said. “Our goal at PLUS is to eliminate these piles while producing the best possible performance-based products. With Roxy getting on board, we’re collectively making a difference.”

Roxy isn’t the first company to consider their sole values. With 300 million pairs of shoes thrown away annually in the U.S. alone, Rekixx — a company that got its start on ABC’s “Shark Tank” — decided to create a 100 percent recyclable sneaker. There is no part of their shoe that ever sees a landfill and can by recycled with the rest of your plastics in your curbside bin.

Secret Cam Reveals Dog’s Cunning Escape From Kitchen (VIDEO)
If this dog’s name isn’t Houdini, it should be.

In this video posted to Youtube yesterday, one dog’s elaborate escape from the kitchen has finally been caught on tape.

User Andrew Holzberger wrote that his friend set up a laptop to see how his dog kept “mysteriously getting out.”

While we totally support all the commenters who advocate against leaving a dog alone in places where he/she can get hurt, this pup seems to know exactly what he’s doing. We thought his tactics were too resourceful not to share!

In a Reddit post of the video, one user jokingly commented “BARKOUR!”

Weight Loss After Divorce: How Splitting Up Inspired Michelle Kimbrell To Shed 50 Pounds (PHOTOS)
Divorce is undoubtedly one of the hardest life events a person can experience. The hidden silver lining? Sometimes splitting up is just the push you need to rebuild your life and create a stronger, healthier version of yourself.

Just ask Michelle Kimbrell. When her marriage fell apart in 2010, she made up her mind to drop the weight she had been struggling to lose for years. Today, the 31-year-old is down from 215 pounds to 165 and regularly runs half-marathons and sprint triathlons. Below, Kimbrell shares her inspiring story:

In March of 2010 my whole world turned upside down: My husband, who I had been with for 10 years, told me he wanted a divorce because he had fallen in love with someone else.

I was 28, had been happily married, or so I thought, and was pushing 215 pounds. On my 5’6″ brick-house frame, most people had no idea I weighed so much but with a BMI of 42 I was obese and felt it. I had tried loosing weight in the previous years and had been somewhat successful. I had dropped to 199 from 236 but then gained 16 pounds back.

(Story continues below)

2013-09-18-before2.jpg

Before weight: 215

With my broken heart in tow. I started running. Not very far at first but far enough to make myself feel something. I wanted to make my body hurt as much as my heart did. I wanted to get mad, scream, destroy things but all I could do was run. So I ran. Every day I took my aggression out on the pavement. Running gave me time off from divorce. It cleared my mind and helped me feel centered. It was also something that was just mine and helped me feel empowered. I wasn’t part of a couple any longer and no longer had the crutch of another person to rely on. I had to learn how to be Michelle again.

Using the iPhone app Couch to 5K, I ran and figured out what my body was capable of. You often read about how runners hurt themselves when they try to do too much too fast, so I was sure to give my body a break by using an elliptical or riding my bike when I was too tired. I took this very serious and have kept the frame of mind that as long as I’m moving forward I’m improving, not only physically but mentally. It’s when I stop moving forward that I have a problem.

After a 10 months of training, I decided it was time to get serious and I signed up for a race. My first 5K was February 2011 and by the end of the year, I completed 13 races, including a 10K. In 2012 I continued with shorter races but also added in my first half marathon and my first Tough Mudder. I completed two half marathon distances that fall averaging 12-13 races for the year. This year, I continued with the half marathon distance, the Tough Mudder and also completed three sprint triathlons. I am currently training for my next half marathon in November. Next year, I have a goal of completing my first marathon distance.

Today, I have lost a little over 50 pounds since hearing those horrible words, “I want a divorce.” The divorce broke me, but I decided if I couldn’t save my marriage, I had to save myself. In place of those 50 pounds, I’ve gained more than I ever thought possible.”

Current weight: 165

2013-09-18-After21.jpg

Check out more of our inspiring weight loss stories below:

For more on weight loss, click here.

Keep in touch! Check out HuffPost Divorce on Facebook and Twitter.

Baby Messiah Can Keep His Name, Tennessee Judge Rules
NEWPORT, Tenn. — A Tennessee woman will be allowed to name her 8-month-old son “Messiah,” a judge ruled Wednesday, overturning an order from another judge who said the boy’s name should be changed to Martin because “`Messiah’ is a title that is held only by Jesus Christ.”

Jaleesa Martin said she couldn’t believe it when child support magistrate Lu Ann Ballew last month ordered Martin’s 8-month-old son’s name changed during a paternity hearing. The parents were disputing the baby’s surname, with Martin hoping to keep the name she had given him – Messiah Deshawn Martin – and father Jawaan McCullough wanting the baby to bear his last name. Ballew surprised both parents by ordering that the baby’s name change to Martin Deshawn McCullough, saying that the name Messiah was not in the baby’s best interest. Her written order stated that “`Messiah’ is a title that is held only by Jesus Christ,” and “Labeling this child `Messiah’ places an undue burden on him that as a human being, he cannot fulfill.”

She also said that the name would likely offend many residents of Cocke County, with its large Christian population.

That decision quickly made international news, and the Wisconsin-based Freedom from Religion Foundation filed a complaint against Ballew with the state’s Board of Judicial Conduct. The board has not yet made any public ruling on the complaint.

At an appeal hearing in Cocke County Chancery Court on Wednesday, Chancellor Telford E. Forgety overturned Ballew’s decision, finding that she acted unconstitutionally.

Forgety said that there is no basis in the law for changing a child’s first name where both parents are in agreement about it. He also said that Ballew’s decision violates the Establishment Clause of the U.S. Constitution.

By agreement of the parents, Forgety ordered the child’s name to be changed to Messiah Deshawn McCullough.

Speaking after the hearing, Jaleesa Martin said she found Ballew’s original ruling “ridiculous” and had been confident it would be overturned.

She never stopped calling the baby Messiah, a name she picked out because she liked the way it sounded with the names of her other two sons, Micah and Maison, she said.

Martin and McCullough were both in the courtroom along with several family members, including Martin’s mother, who wore a T-shirt with the names of the three boys printed on the back next to tiny footprints.

“Everybody’s just happy,” Martin said after the ruling. “I’m glad it’s over with, and I know they are too.”

Martin’s attorney, Kristi Davis, said after the hearing that she was not surprised by how much public interest there was in the case, calling it “a reflection of the fact that we, as Americans, care about our civil liberties.

“I think it’s truly a recognition by the citizens of our country that when a judge oversteps his or her bounds and infringes on the constitutional rights of the people that come in front of them, it’s something that we don’t like, and it’s something that we pay attention to.”

Puppy’s First Visit To The Beach Will Make All Other Dog Photos Out There Irrelevant
Oh puppy, you had us at hello.

puppy 10

puppy 9

puppy 7

This little fella’s name is Champ. He’s a 9-week-old golden retriever that went to the beach for the first time earlier this month, resulting in all of this adorable puppy joy. A Reddit user uploaded the photos and told The Huffington Post his brother took Champ to a beach in Hagar Township on Lake Michigan.

Basically, this is what happiness looks like.

puppy 1

puppy 2

puppy 3

Keep on enjoying life Champ.

If you’re looking for a companion of your own (and not just puppies, many older dogs need homes as well), take a look at the ASPCA adoption site or Petfinder.com.

puppy 4

puppy 5

puppy 6

puppy 8

GPS for the Soul – The Huffington Post
Embracing the Dark and the Light: Lessons of the Equinox
My 21-year-old brother died on the Spring Equinox in 1999. I was 24.

When the phone rang and I learned that he was dead due to a combination of drugs and alcohol, part of me left the world, too. I was instantly propelled out of what had been my life before — drinks with friends, sarcastic jokes, changing jobs, dating — and into something metallic and raw and shock-y. Into the in-between.

The in-between was terrible. At first it meant gagging. Saying, “no, no, no,” over and over, the words rolling out of me. It meant I couldn’t sleep or eat. Mostly it meant I couldn’t believe this had happened to my family, to me, to my brother.

It meant leaving my little life in Maine and returning to my childhood home in Alaska. It meant reading my brother’s autopsy report and breathing in the sick-sweet smell of flowers filling our house. It meant long days in my pajamas and smoking on the porch. It meant watching my parents shoot out into their own orbits of grief.

I was no longer in my life before, the familiar, comfortable, confusing place. But I couldn’t see my life after. I could only see what was missing.

Days and weeks bled into months.

I spiraled deep into my own pain over my brother’s death. If he could die, so could I. Before, I’d had a bubble of protection around myself and my family. I hadn’t known it was there, but when it popped, I woke up. I could and would, someday, die. If my brother’s life was complete at 21 — which it had to be, because there was no other option now — then if I died at that moment, my life would somehow be complete, too.

There was something about this new world where I found myself without the one person I was supposed to get the most time on this planet with, the only other person who knew what it was like to grow up in our particular family. There was something about being so sad that nothing could fix it — not a haircut or a cute boy, not a pizza or a rum and Coke. There was something about drilling down so deep and dark that unexpectedly, I hit light.

I started to breathe again. I started getting dressed before noon. I went to grief groups and I spoke. I stopped hiding, for maybe the first time ever. I started writing down the memories of my brother that flitted through my mind, unburied by his absence. I met some amazing women who had also lost loves, and suddenly there was some magic, some newness, some spark. We sat together and ate greasy food. We talked about the stupid things people say when someone dies, and worse, about how some people say nothing. Our suffering braided us together. It entwined me with the people I saw on news stories, with names of survivors in obituaries.

With time, I started noticing small, good things. The symmetry of the veins on leaves. The warm, sweet taste of the lattes a friend brought me. The heart-deep purr of my cat vibrating against my chest.

I thought about how my brother died on the Equinox, on that day when light and dark exist equally. How they only really exist because of each other. Without death, the little and big moments of our lives, our loves, wouldn’t mean as much.

And slowly, like drips of honey, this became my after. This life where we ache and love and die. This life where if we dive deep, we might come out the other side, dripping with light.

Visit Lynn at http://thelightwillfindyou.com/ or on Facebook.

Your Breath Is Your Conversation With the World
Imagine you are facing in one direction and can clearly see what is in front of you. You can also peer up and down and side to side, so you have a fairly wide range of vision. You know that you can’t see what is behind you, but you imagine what may be back there based on what is within your visual field.

The problem is that you can’t truly conceive of what you can’t see. Your vantage point dictates your perception of the space you inhabit, and your point of view is determined by what you have seen and experienced. Yet there are infinite points in space from which to view your world and yourself, what your life is and what it could be.

I spent the past year studying at the Breathing Project with Leslie Kaminoff. After more than a decade of teaching in a particular way, I wanted the disruptively creative experience of introducing a new point of view into my established ways of thinking about yoga asana. In a world of infinite vantage points, my particular studies of the body felt comfortably ensconced in a familiarity that I had begun to recognize as a constraint.

Throughout our lives we take on patterns that offer us a sense of stability and comfort. This is good. But how can we discern when comfort turns to being stuck? When familiarity creates a furrow of repetition that keeps us in one place and prevents us from even recognizing that we have choices existing outside of it?

I wanted a perspective different from my own so that I could look more objectively at my patterns and choices, dismantle what was no longer working for me, and build something new.

In weekly clinic at the Breathing Project, someone with a particular physical issue would come in to be treated. As a group we would listen and brainstorm, asking questions, then observe or participate as Leslie addressed the particular physical challenge through breath-centered therapeutic techniques.

By helping people to recognize their ingrained habits, he was able to assist them in envisioning a new way of breathing and moving in their bodies. They were able to break the constraints of their physical and emotional histories of injury, protection, and adaptation that no longer served them, and open up to a wider range of possibility.

One person’s history resulted in a way of breathing so constrained that her ribcage barely moved: a form of control that ended up controlling her. Another person had created a supportive habit of muscular gripping to care for an injury that eventually caused injuries in other parts of his body. For these people, gaining awareness of their patterns led to their rethinking them, then ultimately offered them a sense of choice that had been unimaginable just moments before. It was as if they could suddenly see behind themselves at the unknown unknowns: the perspectives they didn’t even know were there.

Think of the accumulated detritus of our inner lives — the clutter that occupies so much of our valuable mental and emotional real estate. In order to gain perspective in our lives we must have the experience of spaciousness, and this is something that we literally and physically need to create for ourselves. This is why we practice asana. This is also why we begin our practice by closing our eyes and turning toward our breath. The invitation to the breath offers us access to our spaciousness through a real physical experience.

Without space, there is no perspective. Without perspective, there is no difference. Without difference, we cannot see the vast life possibilities available to us.

We want our lives to be kaleidoscopic, rich and colorful, revealing different angles of our identities and our worlds. Think of how astonishing it is to rotate the dull rock surface of a geode and reveal its multifaceted interior of fragmented light. This hints at endlessness, growth, and process. This is nature with its collisions of order and chaos and it can be a gateway into imagining the space of possibility within our selves. There is never a moment that is the same as the moment before, your perspective right now is not your perspective of a second ago, and recognizing this is stepping into a space of unlimited creativity.

So how do we get there on our own? It’s fine to read about it or contemplate rock formations, but how do we shift the experience from metaphor to a felt experience of the body that expands into a living experience of the heart and mind?

We have to begin somewhere, and the smartest place to begin is with what is — what we do all the time and take for granted, namely breathing. Begin with the familiarity of an inhale and an exhale, watching the sensation in a such a focused way that you can see beneath its surface pattern to uncover a deeper sense of where you are and where you may wish to go.

Try this:

• First inhale fully. At the top of the breath, notice that moment of pause before the exhale in which everything is suspended. This is the space between the breaths. That space may feel sweetly full — an opulent palace spreading out in all directions.

• Then tip back down over the top of the breath, releasing into a softly billowing parachute of an exhale. There may be a sense of relief in the release, knowing what direction you are going in but not exactly where you will land.

• When you arrive at the bottom of the breath, notice an anticipation, like a gentle pressure just before the upward spring of a diving board in which everything seems possible. Then allow the breath to pour back in, feeling your lungs expand as your body rises to hold the inhale.

• When the breath enters you are buoyed with spaciousness. When the breath exits, you ease back down into a more intimate scale, but with the memory of fullness. You are reminded that you are expansive, that you have choice, and that you can change and grow.

We need to allow ourselves to focus on our breath. The physical experience of spaciousness can offer us an equivalent mental or emotional experience. The breath is the most immediate and the most intimate way of engaging with the world. You inhale the world. You exhale your experience of it.

You are in this conversation regardless of whether or not you choose to pay attention to it, so the question becomes: How rich and substantial do you want your conversation with the world to be?

For more by Susanna Harwood Rubin, click here.

For more on yoga, click here.

Healthy Living – The Huffington Post
How to Stop Suffering
A few months ago I delivered a TEDx talk in Hoboken. TEDx is the local version of the TED talks that are given annually in Long Beach, Calif. and that feature some of the most interesting people in the world talking about “ideas worth spreading.” You can find a video recoding of my talk at http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=sMdVM-t5kFs.

So it was a real honor to be invited to present at a TEDx event. I talked about suffering — how suffering is the result of the negative emotions we feel all day long, which in turn come from the meaning we unconsciously and automatically give to meaningless events. And how it is possible to quickly and easily dissolve that meaning… and stop your suffering.

I urge you to view the entire talk. If you do what I suggest, it could profoundly change your life.

Highlights from my TEDx presentation

Here are some of the highlights from my presentation:

Suffering is not inevitable. The Buddha recognized that it is not our pain that causes our suffering. It is the meaning we attribute to the pain that causes our suffering. Meanings like: I can’t do that. My boss will be upset. They’ll laugh at me. She’s angry with me. I screwed up again. Sound familiar?

What if it were possible for us to stop giving meanings like these to events, thereby stopping our emotional suffering?

You don’t have to imagine it. There actually is a way to quickly and easily dissolve the meaning we unconsciously and automatically give events all day long. And before I’m finished today you all will have learned how to do it. (In the middle of the talk I actually taught them how to dissolve meaning.)

Here’s how to dissolve meaning

But knowing how to dissolve meaning is useless if you don’t do it. So here’s what to do. Whenever you notice a negative emotion of any kind, ask yourself what happened just prior to the emotion and what is the meaning you gave that event that caused the emotion. Then make a clear distinction between the event and the meaning you gave it. That’s it. As soon as you get that the meaning is not part of the event, that it is only in your mind, it will dissolve. And as soon as it dissolves, any negative emotions it had caused will disappear instantaneously. And when the emotions disappear, your suffering stops.

I’ve discovered something fascinating after teaching hundreds of people how to do this exercise: If you set an alarm 14 times a day, for 10 weeks — about 1,000 times — and you dissolve whatever meaning you discover every time your alarm rings, you get to the point where you automatically dissolve the meaning you’ve given to events.

And remember: When you dissolve your meaning, you stop your suffering.

We all can experience real, deep inner peace — in just a few weeks — if we learn to dissolve meaning automatically. Despite what many people think, daily suffering is not a part of human nature.

What would life be like if people stopped giving meaning?

Can you even imagine what your life and the life of everyone else on this planet would be like without negative emotions — without suffering — every day? If we stopped giving meaning, no one would ever experience himself as a victim. If we stopped giving meaning, no one would ever feel anxious when things didn’t turn out the way she wanted them to. If we stopped giving meaning, no one would ever get upset by his circumstances.

Dissolve your meaning, stop your suffering.

I learned how to dissolve meaning a few years ago and it stopped my suffering. Then I taught it to a few hundred people, and many of them tell me it has stopped their suffering. So I decided that I had to tell you.

Because if they can do it, so can you. Take just a moment and think about where you could stop suffering in your life if you dissolved your meanings. In your relationships. With your children. At work.

And if you can do it, so can everyone else in the world. Do you know anyone who feels victimized? Tell them. Do you know anyone who feels frequent anger, anxiety and upset? Tell them. Do you know parents who get upset with their children because of the meaning they give their children’s behavior. Tell them. Tell your friends and family, tell your children, tell everyone that they no longer need to suffer.

Tell everyone what’s possible

This is an idea that’s worth spreading.

I am committed to having a world in which you and the other 7 billion people on this planet dissolve your meaning… and stop your suffering.

To view the video recording of the entire TEDx presentation, please go to http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=sMdVM-t5kFs.

Thanks for reading my blog. Please post your questions or comments about suffering and how to dissolve the meaning that causes it. Your comments will add value for thousands of readers. I read them all and respond to as many as I can.

Morty Lefkoe is the creator of The Lefkoe Method, a series of processes that improve the quality of people’s lives. One revolutionary process, the Lefkoe Belief Process, permanently eliminates limiting beliefs. To actually try that process, go to http://recreateyourlife.com/free

Copyright © 2013 Morty Lefkoe

#alkalinity #alkalinitymovement #7.2 #sevenpointtwo

Leave a Reply

